How Deep Is Your Love? or About Building Advertising Business Cases

Sometimes communicating is repeating. So here we go again trying to make an argument for building business cases in advertising. (You might know that I’m a big fan of P. Drucker’s down to earth and common sense business approach.)

MEASURE IN ORDER TO MANAGE

Any business operation must be measurable. Including advertising. But I’m not talking about putting numbers on a pretty dashboard.  Those actionable KPIs must always be the result of a specific business case.

A business case is a simple walk-though justification of the business objective that generated the advertising operation.

As a digital business planner you need to learn to help your clients to derive the right KPIs from their business objective. This is why it is imperative that you start by defining the right business case. (You can see an example of a business case here.)

CLEAR BUSINESS OBJECTIVES

Some business objectives are easier to measure than others. (more on business objectives here)

For instance: increasing sales, increasing the customer satisfaction can easily be supported by very simple KPIs (e.g. from 12% to 18%, etc).

However, some advertising objectives sound as if they came from a graduate level social engineering course: e.g. Changing consumer behaviour

Whenever faced with these kinds of demands, we can always translate them into a specific business objective. Exactly how do we want to change the consumer behaviour? By how much? etc.

After analysis, you should be able to define the value to be created by the specific business objective. The business case will present a path to profitability if that business objective is attained.

EXAMPLE: A CLEAR BUSINESS OBJECTIVE

Business objective: Increase from 7% to 14% the use of a smartphone while watching TV.

Reasoning for the business case: By increasing by 100% our customers’ use of smartphones while watching TV we can increase their engagement with the brand by 10% and also the download of our custom TV watching app by 200%.
The 10% engagement increase will generate $X in customer loyalty and decrease in attrition rate by 3%,  +4% social media equity and +5% in customer recommendations, etc. This will result in a cumulative revenue increase of $YM over the next 3 years.

You always need to know why you are doing a specific operation and analyze all the pertinent details.

Once the Business Objective is set up we follow the previously discussed process:

Business Objective -> Business Case -> KPIs / Metrics -> Program Maturity Model -> Prerequisite Programs -> Planning

So the conclusion to take away as an advertising planner is that you should always be able to justify your advertising initiative with a business case. And that business case has to support the business objective.

Next I’ll talk about Data and Digital Strategy.

25 thoughts on “How Deep Is Your Love? or About Building Advertising Business Cases

  1. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my
    own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had
    to ask!

  2. Howdy! This post could not be written any better!

    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward
    this article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Every weekend i used to visit this web site, as i wish
    for enjoyment, for the reason that this this web page conations actually fastidious funny information too.

  4. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this put up and if I may I wish to suggest you some fascinating things or advice.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I desire to learn even more issues about it!

  5. Awesome! Its actually remarkable piece of writing, I
    have got much clear idea concerning from this article.

  6. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will send this post to him. Pretty sure he’s going to
    have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  7. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my
    mission.

  8. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog
    soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  9. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious
    if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect
    against it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

  10. I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers but this article
    is really a good post, keep it up.

  11. Very soon this web page will be famous among all blogging users, due to it’s fastidious content

  12. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice post.

  13. Excellent site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community
    forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Kudos!

  14. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with helpful info to work on. You’ve performed a formidable activity and our whole community will
    probably be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

